RISE 2019 Conference

Transforming University Engagement In Pre- and Post-Disaster Environments: Lessons from Puerto Rico

Theresa Pardo

Director of Center for Technology in Government

University at Albany, State University of New York


havidan rodriguez photo

Theresa A. Pardo, Ph.D., serves as CTG UAlbany's Director, and she is also a full research professor in Public Administration and Policy at Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy.

Under her leadership, the CTG UAlbany works closely with multi-sector and multi-disciplinary teams from the United States, and around the world, to carry out applied research and problem-solving projects focused on the intersections of policy, management, and technology in the governmental context. CTG UAlbany has broken ground in information and knowledge sharing, smart cities, open government and open data, e-government, social media policy, and mobile technologies and human services delivery.

She is a co-developer of the top-ranked academic program in Government Information Strategy and Management offered by Rockefeller College.

Dr. Pardo has published over 130 articles, research reports, practice guides, book chapters and case studies and received numerous awards.

Beyond her work on campus, Pardo is an advisor, board and committee member for a number of organizations including: OpenNY Adviser to New York State’s Governor Andrew Cuomo; Chair of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s National Advisory Committee; Member of the User Working Group of the NASA Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC); Business and Operations Advisory Committee of the U.S. National Science Foundation, etc.

In 2015, she received Government Technology Magazine’s Top 25 Doers, Drivers, and Dreamers Award which recognizes individuals throughout the U.S. who exemplify transformative use of technology improving the way government does business and serves its citizens.

She also was awarded the University at Albany’s Distinguished Alumni Award, the University at Albany’s Excellence in Teaching Award, and the Rockefeller College Distinguished Service Award.